Genetics, Epigenetics and Genomics

The research of current faculty covers a broad range of areas, including genomics, population and statistical genetics, genomic instability, the genetic epidemiology of common diseases, complex trait analysis, disease gene identification, gene therapy, developmental genetics, and cancer genetics. Moreover, our program is devoted to the investigation of fundamental mechanisms in gene regulation in a wide range of organisms, ranging from single-celled slime molds to fish and mammals including humans.  Graduate students have the opportunity to carry out interdisciplinary genetics research in these diverse areas.

Lectures and Courses

Schedule


News


LECTURES


 Registration in i-med.inside
 credits availabilityInformation
Main Lecture1,0 (VO) WS 2020/21show program

Ring Lecture >Model Organisms<

1,0 (VO)

WS 2020/21

show program

Ring Lecture >Genetics & Genomics2<

1,0 (VO)SS 2021show program
Ring Lecture >Epigenetics<1,0 (VO)SS 2021Show program



COURSES


 
credits  availability  Information

3D Bioprinting, Tissue Engineering and Rapid Prototyping

Außerlechner, Hagenbuchner

1,50 (VU)   WS 20/21  show program

Protein Purification / Mass spectrometry

Brosch, Golderer, Sarg

1,50 (VU)   WS 20/21   show program

Biological Databases

Schwelberger

1,50 (VU)   WS 20/21  show program

Viral Gene Transfer

Ritsch 

 

 

1,50 (VU)

   WS 20/21

   show program

General Subjects


Students

Simon Hoser

Hoser Simon

E-Mail: simon.hoser@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Katharina Lackner

Lackner Katharina

E-Mail: katharina.lackner@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Watschinger Katrin

Johanna Framm

Framm Johanna

E-Mail: Johanna.Framm@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Maria Kompatscher

Kompatscher Maria

E-Mail: Maria.Kompatscher@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Erlacher Matthias

Silvia Di Maio

Di Maio Silvia

Supervisor: Coassin Stefan

Rebecca Maria Grüneis

Grüneis Rebecca Maria

E-Mail: rebecca.grueneis@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Coassin Stefan

Gunda Schwaninger

Schwaninger Gunda

E-Mail: gunda.schwaninger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Jakob Koch

Koch Jakob

E-Mail: jakob.koch@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Keller Markus

Isabel Delazer

Delazer Isabel

E-Mail: isabel.delazer@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Katharina Lackner

Lackner Katharina

E-Mail: katharina.lackner@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Watschinger Katrin

Thomas Trafoier

Trafoier Thomas

E-Mail: thomas.trafoier@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Schmuth Matthias

Simon Hoser

Hoser Simon

E-Mail: simon.hoser@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Clemens Engler

Engler Clemens

E-Mail: clemens.engler@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Ebenbichler Christoph

David Heimdörfer

Heimdörfer David

E-Mail: david.heimdoerfer@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Antonia Heidegger

Heidegger Antonia

E-Mail: antonia.heidegger@gmail.com

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Gregor Ömer

Ömer Gregor

E-Mail: gregor.oemer@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Benno Amplatz

Amplatz Benno

E-Mail: benno.amplatz@i-med.at

Supervisor: Lindner Herbert

Dominik Klaver

Klaver Dominik

E-Mail: dominik.klaver@i-med.at

Supervisor: Heufler-Tiefenthaler Christine

Petra Pavel

Pavel Petra

E-Mail: petra.pavel@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Moreno-Dubrac Sandrine

Lukas Trixl

Trixl Lukas

E-Mail: lukas.trixl@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Ines Schoberleitner

Schoberleitner Ines

E-Mail: ines.schoberleitner@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Josephin Heinrich

Heinrich Josephin

E-Mail: Josephin.Heinrich@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Matthias Habeler

Habeler Matthias

E-Mail: matthias.habeler@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Redl Bernhard

Maurus Ludwig Locher

Locher Maurus Ludwig

E-Mail: maurus.locher@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Steiner Normann

Anna Huber

Huber Anna

Department: 2020

E-Mail: a.huber@i-med.at

Supervisor: Marx-Ladurner Florentine

Tamara Staudinger

Staudinger Tamara

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Redl Bernhard

Beate Posch

Posch Beate

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Heufler-Tiefenthaler Christine

Beatrix Lechner

Lechner Beatrix

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Haas Hubertus

Thomas Amort

Amort Thomas

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Alexandra Wille

Wille Alexandra

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Sabrina Sailer

Sailer Sabrina

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Werner Ernst R.

Lukas Schafferer

Schafferer Lukas

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Haas Hubertus

Mark Boltengagen

Boltengagen Mark

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Martina Rupp

Rupp Martina

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Ausserlechner Michael J.

Johanna Sebald

Sebald Johanna

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Simon Schafferer

Schafferer Simon

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Michael Unger

Unger Michael

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Ausserlechner Michael J.

Christoph Sonderegger

Sonderegger Christoph

Department: 2018

E-Mail: christoph.sonderegger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Marx-Ladurner Florentine

Daniele Seppi

Seppi Daniele

Department: 2019

E-Mail: daniele.seppi@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Werner Ernst R.

Angelo Pidroni

Pidroni Angelo

Department: 2019

E-Mail: angelo.pidroni@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Grässle Stefan

Matthias Misslinger

Misslinger Matthias

Department: 2019

E-Mail: matthias.misslinger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor:

Rimpi Khurana

Khurana Rimpi

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Thomas Hoernes

Hoernes Thomas

Department: 2019

E-Mail: thomas.hoernes@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Petra Cantonati

Cantonati Petra

Department: 2018

E-Mail: petra.cantonati@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Obexer Petra

Stefan Blunder

Blunder Stefan

Department: 2018

E-Mail: stefan.blunder@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Schmuth Matthias

Anette Zeilner

Zeilner Anette

E-Mail: anette.zeilner@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Markus Karl Kurz

Kurz Markus Karl

E-Mail: markus.kurz@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Loidl Peter

Birgit Faber

Faber Birgit

Department: 2019

E-Mail: birgit.faber@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Grässle Stefan

Petra Müller

Müller Petra

E-Mail: petra.mueller@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Nicole Huber

Huber Nicole

Department: 2019

E-Mail: nicole.huber@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Syed Atif Ali Zohaib

Zohaib Syed Atif Ali

E-Mail: syed.zohaib@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Werner-Felmayer Gabriele

Roland Werner

Werner Roland

E-Mail: roland.werner@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Lukas Lunger

Lunger Lukas

E-Mail: lukas.lunger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Ebenbichler Christoph

Faculty

Ernst R. Werner

Ernst R. Werner

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43 (0)512/9003-70340

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Gabriele Werner-Felmayer

Gabriele Werner-Felmayer

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43 (0)512/9003-70341

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Gerald Brosch

Gerald Brosch

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70211

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Alexander Hüttenhofer

Alexander Hüttenhofer

Biocenter, Genomics and RNomics



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70250

Send Email »

Alexandra Lusser

Alexandra Lusser

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70210

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Hubertus Haas

Hubertus Haas

Biocenter, Molecular Biology


Siderophore, iron – and secondary metabolism during mold fungi infections


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70205

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Ilja Vietor

Ilja Vietor

Biocenter, Cell Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70175

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Walther Parson

Walther Parson

Legal Medicine


Forensic Genomics, Population Genetics, Human Identification, Species Identification


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70651

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Claudia Lamina

Claudia Lamina

Division of Genetic Epidemiology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70565

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Andreas Ritsch

Andreas Ritsch

Internal Medicine I



Tel.: +43 512 504 23252

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Johannes Zschocke

Johannes Zschocke

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70500

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Stefan Grässle

Stefan Grässle

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70218

Send Email »

Matthias Schmuth

Matthias Schmuth

Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology



Tel.: +43 50 504 24801

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Petra Obexer

Petra Obexer

Paediatrics II


molecular oncology


Tel.: +43 50 504 25439

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Florentine Marx-Ladurner

Florentine Marx-Ladurner

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70207

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Christine Heufler-Tiefenthaler

Christine Heufler-Tiefenthaler

Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology



Send Email »

Michael J. Ausserlechner

Michael J. Ausserlechner

Paediatrics I


Department of Child and Adolescent Health


Tel.: +43 512 504-27748

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Hubert Schwelberger

Hubert Schwelberger

Visceral, Transplant and Thoracic Surgery


Histamine metabolism and signaling in human disease


Tel.: +43 512 9003 71362

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Martin Bodner

Martin Bodner

Legal Medicine


Forensic Genomics, Population Genetics, Human Identification, DNA data quality control


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70621

Send Email »

Katrin Watschinger

Katrin Watschinger

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70344

Send Email »

Stefan Coassin

Stefan Coassin

Division of Genetic Epidemiology



Tel.: +43/512/9003 70576

Send Email »

Judith Hagenbuchner

Judith Hagenbuchner

Paediatrics II



Tel.: +43 512 504-81578

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Florian Kronenberg

Florian Kronenberg

Genetic Epidemiology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70560

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Herbert Oberacher

Herbert Oberacher

Legal Medicine


Bioanalytical Mass Spectrometry


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70639

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Thomas Müller

Thomas Müller

Pediatrics I


Clinics and genetics of congenital enteropathies and hereditary liver diseases


Tel.: +43 50 504 23501

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Matthias Erlacher

Biocenter, Genomics and RNomics



Tel.: +43(0)512/9003-70256

Send Email »

Herbert Lindner

Biocenter, Clinical Biochemistry



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70310

Send Email »

Christoph Ebenbichler

Internal Medicine I



Tel.: +43 50 504 23298

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Sandrine Moreno-Dubrac

Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology



Tel.: +43/(0)50/504 23025

Send Email »

Markus Keller

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70550

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Albert Amberger

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70548

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Sabine Rudnik

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70502

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Katharina Wimmer

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70513

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Program Coordinator

Gerald Brosch

Program Coordinator


Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70211

Fax: +43/(0)512/9003-73100

E-Mail: gerald.brosch@i-med.ac.at

Johannes Zschocke

Program Coordinator


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70500

E-Mail: johannes.zschocke@i-med.ac.at