Genetics, Epigenetics and Genomics

The research of current faculty covers a broad range of areas, including genomics, population and statistical genetics, genomic instability, the genetic epidemiology of common diseases, complex trait analysis, disease gene identification, gene therapy, developmental genetics, and cancer genetics. Moreover, our program is devoted to the investigation of fundamental mechanisms in gene regulation in a wide range of organisms, ranging from single-celled slime molds to fish and mammals including humans.  Graduate students have the opportunity to carry out interdisciplinary genetics research in these diverse areas.

Lectures and Courses

LECTURES


 Registration in i-med.inside
 credits availabilityInformation
Main Lecture1,0 (VO) WSshow program

Ring Lecture >Model Organisms<

1,0 (VO)

WS

show program

Ring Lecture >Epigenetics<

1,0 (VO)SS show program
Ring Lecture >Genetics and Genomics<1,0 (VO)SSShow program



COURSES


 
 credits  availabilityInformation

Basic Cloning Techniques

Schwelberger H

1,5 (VU)WS show program

Protein Purification / Mass Spectrometry

Brosch G, Golderer G, Sarg B

1,5 (VU)WSshow program

3D Bioprinting, Tissue Engineering and Rapid

Prototyping

1,5 (VU)WSshow program

Außerlechner M, Hagenbuchner J

CSI Innsbruck: analysis and interpretation of

forensic DNA-markers

Parson W / Bodner M

1,5 (VU)SS show program

Next generation sequencing and nanopore

sequencing: From wet lab and data processing

to final interpretation 

Coassin S, Schönherr S

0,75 (VU)SSshow program

Drug Analysis

Oberacher H

1,5 (PR)SSshow program

Elective Subjects


General Subjects


Students

Jeanett Holzknecht

Holzknecht Jeanett

E-Mail: Jeanett.Holzknecht@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Marx-Ladurner Florentine

Gregor Ömer

Ömer Gregor

E-Mail: gregor.oemer@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Petra Müller

Müller Petra

E-Mail: petra.mueller@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Bettina Rass

Rass Bettina

E-Mail: bettina.rass@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Außerlechner Michael

Rebekka Gröbner

Gröbner Rebekka

E-Mail: Rebekka.Groebner@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Antonia Heidegger

Heidegger Antonia

E-Mail: antonia.heidegger@gmail.com

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Benno Amplatz

Amplatz Benno

E-Mail: benno.amplatz@i-med.at

Supervisor: Lindner Herbert

Dominik Klaver

Klaver Dominik

E-Mail: dominik.klaver@i-med.at

Supervisor: Heufler-Tiefenthaler Christine

Anna Huber

Huber Anna

E-Mail: a.huber@i-med.at

Supervisor: Marx-Ladurner Florentine

Josephin Heinrich

Heinrich Josephin

E-Mail: Josephin.Heinrich@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Monika Hunjadi

Hunjadi Monika

E-Mail: monika.hunjadi@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Ritsch Andreas

Nicole Huber

Huber Nicole

E-Mail: nicole.huber@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Ines Schoberleitner

Schoberleitner Ines

E-Mail: ines.schoberleitner@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Lukas Trixl

Trixl Lukas

E-Mail: lukas.trixl@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Petra Pavel

Pavel Petra

E-Mail: petra.pavel@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Moreno-Dubrac Sandrine

Maurus Ludwig Locher

Locher Maurus Ludwig

E-Mail: maurus.locher@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Steurer Michael

Lukas Lunger

Lunger Lukas

E-Mail: lukas.lunger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Ebenbichler Christoph

Matthias Habeler

Habeler Matthias

E-Mail: matthias.habeler@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Redl Bernhard

Roland Werner

Werner Roland

E-Mail: roland.werner@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Syed Atif Ali Zohaib

Zohaib Syed Atif Ali

E-Mail: syed.zohaib@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Werner-Felmayer Gabriele

Thomas Hoernes

Hoernes Thomas

E-Mail: thomas.hoernes@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Matthias Misslinger

Misslinger Matthias

E-Mail: matthias.misslinger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor:

Angelo Pidroni

Pidroni Angelo

E-Mail: angelo.pidroni@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Grässle Stefan

Daniele Seppi

Seppi Daniele

E-Mail: daniele.seppi@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Werner Ernst R.

Christoph Sonderegger

Sonderegger Christoph

E-Mail: christoph.sonderegger@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Marx-Ladurner Florentine

Petra Cantonati

Cantonati Petra

E-Mail: petra.cantonati@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Obexer Petra

Dulce Maria de Lima Cunha

de Lima Cunha Dulce Maria

E-Mail: Dulce.de-Lima@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hennies Hans Christian

Stefan Blunder

Blunder Stefan

E-Mail: stefan.blunder@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Schmuth Matthias

Birgit Faber

Faber Birgit

E-Mail: birgit.faber@student.i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Grässle Stefan

Markus Karl Kurz

Kurz Markus Karl

E-Mail: markus.kurz@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Loidl Peter

Anette Zeilner

Zeilner Anette

E-Mail: anette.zeilner@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Josef Fritz

Fritz Josef

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Ulmer Hanno

Catarina Gomes Alves Xavier

Gomes Alves Xavier Catarina

Department: 2017

E-Mail: catarina.gomes@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Philipp Manuel Hofer

Hofer Philipp Manuel

Department: 2017

E-Mail: philipp.hofer@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Göbel Georg

Caroline Linhart

Linhart Caroline

Department: 2017

E-Mail: linhart.caroline@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Ulmer Hanno

Roswitha Plank

Plank Roswitha

Department: 2017

E-Mail: roswitha.plank@i-med.ac.at

Supervisor: Hennies Hans Christian

Rimpi Khurana

Khurana Rimpi

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Harald Niederstätter

Niederstätter Harald

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Robert Erb

Erb Robert

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Oberacher Herbert

Tamara Staudinger

Staudinger Tamara

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Redl Bernhard

Beate Posch

Posch Beate

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Heufler-Tiefenthaler Christine

Beatrix Lechner

Lechner Beatrix

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Haas Hubertus

Thomas Amort

Amort Thomas

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Alexandra Wille

Wille Alexandra

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Sabrina Sailer

Sailer Sabrina

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Werner Ernst R.

Martina Rupp

Rupp Martina

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Außerlechner Michael

Lukas Schafferer

Schafferer Lukas

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Haas Hubertus

Mark Boltengagen

Boltengagen Mark

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Johanna Sebald

Sebald Johanna

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Lusser Alexandra

Klaus Faserl

Faserl Klaus

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Lindner Herbert

Stefan Salcher

Salcher Stefan

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Obexer Petra

Simon Schafferer

Schafferer Simon

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Hüttenhofer Alexander

Michael Unger

Unger Michael

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Außerlechner Michael

Maximilian Seiter

Seiter Maximilian

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Außerlechner Michael

Melanie Amort-Achmüller

Amort-Achmüller Melanie

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Polacek Norber

Josef Fritz

Fritz Josef

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Ulmer Hanno

Catarina Gomes Alves Xavier

Gomes Alves Xavier Catarina

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Ayesha Irshad

Irshad Ayesha

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Werner-Felmayer Gabriele

Bernd Schöpf

Schöpf Bernd

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Klocker Helmut

Kathrin Arnhard

Arnhard Kathrin

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Oberacher Herbert

Mayra Mayr-Eduardoff

Mayr-Eduardoff Mayra

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Parson Walther

Agung Dewanto

Dewanto Agung

Department: 2016

Supervisor: Seeber Beata

Asma Noureen

Noureen Asma

Department: 2015

Supervisor: Utermann Gerd

Andrea Deutschmann

Deutschmann Andrea

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Zschocke Johannes

Julia Raschenberger

Raschenberger Julia

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Kronenberg Florian

Barbara Lanthaler

Lanthaler Barbara

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Witsch-Baumgartner Martina

Andreas Melmer

Melmer Andreas

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Ebenbichler Christoph

Sabine Plattner

Plattner Sabine

Department: 2014

Supervisor: Oberacher Herbert

Salome Mack

Mack Salome

Department: 2017

Supervisor: Lamina Claudia

Faculty

Ernst R. Werner

Ernst R. Werner

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43 (0)512/9003-70340

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Gabriele Werner-Felmayer

Gabriele Werner-Felmayer

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43 (0)512/9003-70341

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Georg Golderer

Georg Golderer

Biocenter, Biological Chemistry



Tel.: +43 (0)512/9003-70332

Send Email »

Gerald Brosch

Gerald Brosch

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70211

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Herbert Lindner

Biocenter, Clinical Biochemistry



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70310

Send Email »

Alexander Hüttenhofer

Biocenter, Genomics and RNomics



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70250

Send Email »

Georg Göbel

Medical Statistics, Informatics and Health Economics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70911

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Bettina Toth

Gynaecological Endocrinology and Reproductive Medicine



Tel.: +43 50 504 23276

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Hubert Schwelberger

Hubert Schwelberger

Visceral, Transplant and Thoracic Surgery


Histamine metabolism and signaling in human disease


Tel.: +43 512 9003 71362

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Matthias Schmuth

Matthias Schmuth

Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology



Tel.: +43 50 504 24801

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Claudia Lamina

Claudia Lamina

Division of Genetic Epidemiology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70565

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Florian Kronenberg

Florian Kronenberg

Genetic Epidemiology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70560

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Andreas Ritsch

Andreas Ritsch

Internal Medicine I



Tel.: +43 512 504 23252

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Christoph Ebenbichler

Internal Medicine I



Tel.: +43 50 504 23298

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Walther Parson

Walther Parson

Legal Medicine


Forensic Genomics, Population Genetics, Human Identification, Species Identification


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70651

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Herbert Oberacher

Herbert Oberacher

Legal Medicine


Bioanalytical Mass Spectrometry


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70639

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Johannes Zschocke

Johannes Zschocke

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70500

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Katharina Wimmer

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70513

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Sabine Rudnik

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70502

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Markus Keller

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70550

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Albert Amberger

Human Genetics



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70548

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Stefan Grässle

Stefan Grässle

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70218

Send Email »

Alexandra Lusser

Alexandra Lusser

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70210

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Florentine Marx-Ladurner

Florentine Marx-Ladurner

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70207

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Bernhard Redl

Biocenter, Molecular Biology



Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70203

Send Email »

Ilja Vietor

Ilja Vietor

Biocenter, Cell Biology



Tel.: +43 512 9003 70175

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Nikolaus Romani

Nikolaus Romani

Dermatology and Venereology



Tel.: +43 50 504 28559

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Christine Heufler-Tiefenthaler

Christine Heufler-Tiefenthaler

Dermatology, Venereology and Allergology



Send Email »

Petra Obexer

Petra Obexer

Paediatrics II


molecular oncology


Tel.: +43 50 504 25439

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Michael Außerlechner

Paediatrics I


Department of Child and Adolescent Health


Tel.: +43 512 504-27748

Send Email »

Personal Website »

Martin Bodner

Martin Bodner

Legal Medicine


Forensic Genomics, Population Genetics, Human Identification, DNA data quality control


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70621

Send Email »

Hubertus Haas

Hubertus Haas

Biocenter, Molecular Biology


Siderophore, iron – and secondary metabolism during mold fungi infections


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70205

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Thomas Müller

Thomas Müller

Pediatrics I


Clinics and genetics of congenital enteropathies and hereditary liver diseases


Tel.: +43 50 504 23501

Send Email »

Short curriculum »

Personal Website »

Program Coordinator

Gerald Brosch

Program Coordinator


Tel.: +43/(0)512/9003-70211

Fax: +43/(0)512/9003-73100

E-Mail: gerald.brosch@i-med.ac.at

Johannes Zschocke

Program Coordinator


Tel.: +43 512 9003 70500

E-Mail: johannes.zschocke@i-med.ac.at